One year in the UA of E!!

October 24, 2010… just another date for any other normal human being… for me, it marks my first year of “existing” here in the UA of E… Yes, I do have an actual life here… it might not be something I could compare to what I had in Cebu, but it’s still something to carry with me for the rest of my mortal life…

Friends and family have told me that I look happy here and that I have settled in quite nicely… I guess I’m the kind of person who can adapt to change quickly and not get homesick that frequently… (insert comments here like: SHE’S HEARTLESS or something nasty)

Don’t get me wrong but I do try to see something positive in every experience… But this is the perfect opportunity for me to be independent and to have a life… The time to make decisions and mistakes… You only have three companions here through and through and they are: ME, MYSELF and I. They will never fail you and will always be consistent… People who don’t believe in themselves are just gonna be stuck as a RUNT… (I say, IF YOU DON’T KNOW, CHECK GOOGLE)

“Career”… do I have one? I guess I do… it’s not time to elaborate about it, yet… I do not want to jinx anything…

“Friends”… got tons of them… I am fairly surprised to have met a bunch who operate on the same radio frequency that my brain uses… there are some who belong to the sarcastic group, the funny ones, the cute ones and the one who cusses a lot (mostly sarcastic and funny too)… those are my peeps and they cheer me up everyday…

“Amore”… Does it exist here?! I am a skeptic… Flirting is a famous sport here, next to soccer (fine, FOOTBALL!) and camel racing (yes, camels can run even with those humps on their backs)… I think I even know people who have awards and are hall-of-famers as well… Let me compare it to “Sex and the City” or “Gossip Girl”… enough said…

“Shopping”… I cannot get enough of it but I cannot get enough moolah to continue it, either… which just totally bombs!

“Scenery”… two things: “sand” and “buildings”… That is what you’re gonna primarily see when you go around Dubai… The trees even feel so fake here… Clouds?! Sooner or later, you will forget what they look like since they don’t appear as normally as it should… Rain?! What’s that?!?!

So, today, I start the first day of my second year here in the UA of E… Will “Lady Luck” be on my side now and finally get tired of playing pranks on me?! Or will she just continue on to torture me with her sadistic humor?!

Lady Luck, please be nice…

I am nice…

when I’m fast asleep… 😛

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

