Poker Newbie

I’m Sharday and I’m a poker newbie… (This is the part where you reply, “Hi Sharday!”)

So, I’ve recently just started playing Texas Hold’Em Poker on Facebook due to peer pressure and I’ve been bombarded with numerous game requests from friends. I actually clicked it by mistake and this window just pop opened and it looked so alluring, I could not resist it. I was being hypnotized by this lady…

The Devil is a ginger kid!

Back to my story…

I was actually getting the hang of this game, after two days or something, I logged in and started playing. It was going fine and dandy, until the chatbox started pinging like crazy. People were actually chatting and playing at the same time! And they’re just beginners, so much about multi-tasking, eh?! And this one girl eventually caught my attention for two reasons: 1.) She just won a huge pot of money and 2.) Her profile picture was begging to be mocked.

Here comes what I presume is to be a white guy who joins in the table for the next hand. I just knew he was white for two reasons: 1.) His name was Ryan (you can’t get more American than that!) and 2.) His profile pic was of AC/DC. I just had a strong feeling about it and I wasn’t wrong at all! (My clairvoyance is still intact! Woot!)

70s rock... yeah! awesome! (insert other "stoned" expressions)

Alas, I was right! And the conversation went like this:

Ryan: HEY EVERYONE! HOW’S THE TABLE

Manilyn: HI!

Ryan: HELLO

Manilyn: WER R U FROM?

Ryan: AZ

Manilyn: HUH? WER IS DAT?

Me: (butting in the conversation) ARIZONA

Ryan: ARIZONA

Manilyn: OH! DAT IS NICE!

(some form of chatter from some other players were going on at this point)

Manilyn: RYAN! im from d phillipines

Me: Obviously

Ryan: OK

Manilyn: It’s a vry nyc country

 

My evil, sarcastic side couldn’t help but come out at this point. I was trying to hold it in but it won out eventually.

 

Me: You can’t even spell out your country’s name right… DUH!

The evil side won out and typed that message out loud. You see, I can be such a stick-up-in-my-ass kind of person when it comes to spelling and grammar. You can call me the “grammar police”, I don’t care. The “good” side didn’t really protest as she found it equally offending as well.

My two sides have eventually agreed on one thing...

How did it end? No, I did not wait for her retort as there was just no point in waiting for it.

No, really, my friend saw my expression while playing and knew something was up. (The evil twinkle in my eye can be seen from a mile away) And logged me out of the game.

BOO!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Poker Newbie

  1. Come and play for real so I can take your money. I need a new sofa.

Leave a Reply

